Wild Bison Return to Illinois!

by Dee Hudson Photography

_MG_6088-Edit

On a dark, cold and very windy night, I waited excitedly with about fifteen other folk for twenty bison to arrive to their new home at Nachusa Grasslands. To be a part of this moment was thrilling! Since I began photographing and restoring the prairie two years ago, the excitement, talk and preparations for the bison arrival have been steadily building to this eventful night. When the semi finally arrived, I had to stand well back while the bison unloaded, so the only photograph I captured of this major event was the semi! In the second bottom compartment though, I can clearly see the large outline of some bison.

For over an hour the bison handlers tried everything they could think of to move the bison from the semi into the new corral. Finally, all the lights were extinguished and everyone left to celebrate, allowing the bison to enter the corral on their own sometime in the night.

Bison

The next morning I wanted to rush over to the corral for a peek, but our Illinois weather was not cooperating. In late afternoon the rain finally stopped and I was able to get a nice glimpse of the cows eating.

_MG_6415-2

